new DXCC on 160m: VK

Although I have an average RX-situation on 160m, I can work DX! But maybe it’s better to say: I can be worked by DX-stations….?
Anyhow, I worked VK3ZL and VK3IO on 160m yesterday with good signals. It was their Sunrise which gives good enhancement to the signals (grey zone).
They are qrv nearly every day at their SR-time (our evening) but I could never hear them this loud!
PA0O made a recording (not from my qso) of VK3IO (he uses K3 with narrow filter setting).

The snow gives me a lot of problems on 160m, because the connector is open and below snow-level which changes the SWR all the time. Have to retune my PA after cleaning the connector. Things to improve.

Surely this is my DX on 160m, only ZL will be longer.

7 Responses

  1. hello Aart, nice qso conratulation.

    73,

    CE1TBN

  2. Well done, great achievement! The recording looks like signal from outer space. šŸ˜‰ 73 Paul PC4T

  3. I use the AH inverted-Kwark bakjes methode to protect the connection at the feedpoint..

    http://picasaweb.google.nl/lh/photo/H_CTrfJJAzutcpD2FqKVsw?feat=directlink

  4. Aart i once had a bad PL259 connector at the feedpoint. Raised the arc error protection starting already at 30W. This looks an N-type. The N-type has only few mm gap between center and shield. I think a good PL259 is better at this spot?

    • Jaap
      good point I will look into that point. Indeed it is a N-connector, and it seems there is a short sometimes.

  5. Hallo Aart, ik heb al een aantal keer naar die foto van die connector gekeken en verbaas me erover dat je hiermee kan zenden. En wat ik begrijp ook nog eens QRO. Zo een roestig kroonsteentje lijkt me niet een beste verbinding. En ook nog een N-connector, helemaal niet nodig voor 160m, maar goed die zat vast al aan de kabel. Als ik zoiets zou maken zou ik er een laag siliconenkit overheen boetseren. Kan je er later ook weer makkelijk af halen. Al mijn connectors tape ik altijd in met vulcaniserende tape. Maar goed, er gebeuren wel meer rare dingen. PA0O zend geloof ik op een stukje luidsprekerdraad of zoiets over de hele wereld heen. En ik maar mijn best doen om een goede antenne in elkaar te zetten. Ik snap er soms helemaal niets van volgens mij šŸ˜‰ 73, Bas

Leave a Reply

